.
Daily Update

Recapping March

Well, I’ve been putting this off. I’ve been kept busy offline, and I’ve been feeling in a bit of a funk, so I’ve avoided this blog update for the last few days as well. Never fear, I am still here!

Well, the first part of March went rather well. I was on a roll, keeping up with things, feeling pretty good with my progress. The last two weeks, however, I suffered a crash.

The usual end-of-month blues came around. The same old hormonal swing that left me bloated, tired and moody. That, and the rotten weather (talking serious rain and lightning) that seems to habitually blow through was putting my outside activities in a bind. I even had a week where I only went out and walked once. Once. I’m pretty disappointed in myself for that. I’m trying not to be too hard on myself, but I do know I can do better, and I let the blues control my attitude and mood to the point that I didn’t really do much but sit around and sleep.

This was compounded by some stress in life, including looking for work, managing finances and dealing with some issues overseas, working on some projects to meet deadlines. All of this led to a tired, stressed and bummed out Blu.

On top of that, I’ve hit a major plateau. While I’ve maintained my diet by keeping under my points target every day, my physical activity has suffered a blow and it seems that my progress has slowed. It’s a real bummer. At my lowest, I hit 142.2lbs, which is right about where I’d set my monthly goal for. I was, however, optimistic in aiming for under that number to finish the month. I didn’t quite make it.

So while I’m not entirely too hung up on the 0.2lb, and I will consider that I’ve reached my goal for March, since that day I’ve been on a roller coaster, going up and down between 144 and 142lbs. There’s no real pattern to it, so it’s frustrating and I feel like I’m stuck in a bit of a loop. Am I gaining? Am I losing? Am I just stuck?

Feeling stuck is just a terrible feeling, even though I’m pretty sure I’m doing it to myself by being apathetic in my workouts.

But to throw a more positive light on it, I did just get back from a walk today. 4 miles. My first for the week, mind, so I’m already behind on schedule and I’m going to round out to only 3 walks this week, which is less than my standard 4. Still, it’s a step back in the right direction, and it has improved my mood vastly. I’d forgotten just how therapeutic it is to get out and enjoy some fresh air and sunshine. I’m just hoping that the weather throws me a bone and continues to be as beautiful as it is today so I can get out and back into a solid routine.

On another note, however: food. Lordy, while I’ve maintained a very healthy and solid diet at home of grilled and baked chicken, fresh vegetables and fruits with salads and low fat yoghurts, it seems that the change in my diet has changed my system.

Last weekend I went to celebrate a birthday with my in-laws, and they make some amazing jambalaya. This stuff is worth its weight in gold. I actually behaved myself, ate as much as I could on my diet plan, and I was happy as a clam, full to the brim and feeling great.

But then the indigestion hit. I was doubled over in agony early the next morning and the rest of the day. It was terrible. That jambalaya had come back at me like a beast and I was paying for it. It was pretty bad, I’d never had it quite like that before.

It seems I haven’t learned my lesson, however, because last night, to celebrate Boo’s graduation from his class, we went out to the local burger joint and I enjoyed every last delicious bite of a home-style burger.

And again, I sit here today with the remnants of indigestion and a miserable kicked-dog expression to boot.

Both of these foods I’ve had a dozen times before, but man, they are wicked on my stomach now. I’m back to chewing on my veggies and drinking tons of water. I guess next time I’m going to have to curb my cravings a little more, or at least come prepared when eating foods like that.

Boo has been doing great, he’s down now to about 190lbs. That’s insane, making him losing weight faster than I, and over 20lbs or so from his highest. He’s also been joining me on some of my walks, helping to act as a personal trainer to get me back into running and keeping me motivated. I do enjoy his company when he comes, so he’s been a solid rock with me. I hope to keep it up and keep up with him in the future.

So, overall, I’m a little bummed out at how March ended. I could have done a lot better than I did. That said, I did reach my goals. I just feel I can come through for myself better here in April.

So here’s a list of my goals for April:

  • Hit 137lbs – my ultimate/minimum goal for the month; that’s about 5 or so pounds. A little less than previous months, so can I stick it out and do it?
  • Hit 141.5lbs – This is my immediate goal; if I hit this, that would mean I’ve lost 20lbs straight up from my first official weighing in January
  • Pick up my Wii Fit workouts – if not daily, at least on my off-days from walking
  • Maintain my 4 miles a day, 4 days a week workout, weather permitting – DO IT. Stop messing around, Blu!
  • Continue bringing my jogging back up to speed.
Discussion

2 thoughts on “Recapping March

  1. You need to update your ticker πŸ˜€ let’s beat those stupid plateaus … I hate them a lot 😦

    Posted by seethelight82 | April 13, 2012, 9:54 am
    • I wish I could say I’ve neglected it, but that pesky plateau is why I haven’t updated it. >.> I’d been gaining since I last updated it, and I’ve just now lost 0.1kg from my last check, so boo. 😦 Hoping that in the next few weeks I can take another chunk or two out of the ticker!

      Posted by Blu | April 13, 2012, 12:56 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

